William Perry (1913-1988) nine stages of epistemological growth from dualists to relativists epistemologies and extended by Baxter Magolda's Model of Epistemological Reflection to encompass research students.

Open Content
Open Publishing
Open Courses
Open Assessment
Open Credentialing

Open Content
Making publicly available course resources
Open Collaboration Content- Public participation in content development

Open Publishing
Formatting resources for public access - online, ebooks, open journals, etc.
Open Collaboration Publishing - Public participation in publishing processes

Open Courses
Making publicly available participation in courses
Open Collaboration Courses - Public participation in teaching

Open Curriculum
Making publicly available curriculum
Open Collaboration Curriculum - Public participation in curriculum development

Open Assessment
Making publicly available assessment of student learning
Use of online, peer, gamified and portfolio based assessment approaches
Open Collaboration Courses - Public participation in assessment development

Open Credentialing
Contributing to a trusted yet open process of peer reviewed credentialing of student learning
While this has challenges in formal educational institutions, development opportunities exist in professional learning.