2011 AGM ACE Queensland

posted 3 Dec 2011, 05:57 by Jason Zagami   [ updated 3 Dec 2011, 06:04 ]
Saturday, 3 December 2011

2011 AGM ACE Queensland

Zagami, J. (2011). ACE GCRG AGM Report 2011 [Presentation slides]. Retrieved from https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1n_BZNauva_DzU3sgB4td_E_1G9qPX4Ot4mJr_bu7QQs/edit?hl=en_US

Presidents report given at the Australian College of Educators Queensland Branch AGM on Gold Coast Regional Group by ACE GCRG president Dr Jason Zagami 3 December 2011, at St Josephs, Brisbane, Australia.

Australian College of Educators
Queensland Branch AGM
Gold Coast Regional Group Presidents Report
December 2011

The Gold Coast Regional Group continues to be active in providing service and voice for ACE members on the Gold Coast. Sincere appreciation is extended to members of the ACE Gold Coast Regional Group Committee: Treasurer: Neville Byrnes and Committee Members: Peter Wilkinson, Dr Sandra Nissen, Associate Professor Glenn Finger, and Roger Beaumont-Wilkins in ensuring that our college has a local focus on the Gold Coast. Appreciation is also extended to the support provided by our state branch, state branch president Glenn Finger, national office staff, CEO Debra Goldfinch and national president Lyndsay Connors. In 2011 the following key regional events were conducted:

2010 Film showing of "Waiting for Superman" film showing and discussion held on the 14th of November 2011 at Australia Fair.

2011 Gold Coast Regional Group Leadership Breakfast held on the 11th of March 2011 at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise on the theme "The frustrations of change".

2011 ACE Gold Coast Teacher Education Awards held on the 9th of March 2011 at the Gold Coast Convention Centre. The following Awards were presented:

Australian College of Educators Prize
(BEd Primary student with highest GPA)

Bruce Dixon Medal
(Most outstanding graduate from BEd Primary programme)

Sisters of Mercy Medal
(Most Outstanding Third Year BEd Primary Student)

Edmund Hibbard Prize
(Most Outstanding Second Year BEd Primary Student)

Helena Davenport Prize
(Most Outstanding First Year BEd Primary Student)

2011 ACE Gold Coast Student Committee was active in:

Organising four sub-committee meetings

Dreamworld Professional Development Event on the 13th of August 2011

QLD Pre-registration Test Forum concept for the 2011 ACE Gold Coast Annual Forum

2011 ACE Gold Coast Forum on the 3rd of June 2011 at Coomera Anglican College on the theme "Will teacher bonuses make a difference?" with speakers Dr Fay Haisley FACE and Julie Brown QTU led discussion exploring the advantages and disadvantages of teacher incentive payments.

2011 ACE Gold Coast Annual Forum on the 1st of September 2011 at Griffith University on the theme "Expectations on Teachers" with speakers Professor Joy Cumming and Associate Professor Cheryl Sim prompted discussion on student and school expectations for new staff, the QLD pre-registration test, and exploring alternatives that would meet community expectations.

2011 ACE Gold Coast AGM was held on the 21st of October 2011 at Somerset College on the theme "The future of your regional group" with speaker Debra Goldfinch (ACE CEO). Over 20 members attended and passed six motions to inform ACE national office of ACE GCRG member concerns on governance of the college.

Re-elected unopposed for a further 2 year term of office (2012/2013):


Dr Jason Zagami
Griffith University


Neville Byrnes
Retired School Principal

Immediate Past President

Associate Professor Glenn Finger
Griffith University

Committee Members

Dr Sandra Nissen
Assistant Director A B Paterson College

Peter Wilkinson
Retired Educator

Roger Beaumont-Wilkins
Retired Head of Department and MYP Coordinator

Vacant positions: President Elect, Secretary.

2011 ACE Gold Coast End of Year Celebration will be held on the 25th of November 2011 at 4pm at Mermaid Beach SLSC.

Dr Jason Zagami FACE
Gold Coast Regional Group President